HW 8: Philosophy of Teaching

The Adventure

Teaching can be complicated to some, but teaching is really just a matter of enriching the lives of students. I believe that inspiring students to learn is the best way to start. I want to give them the proper environment in which they can learn. An environment conducive to learning with different areas that will help hone their skills. The focus isn’t really that of the teacher but the students.

As a teacher, I believe that using a student-centered approach is necessary. It is very important to take into consideration the student’s needs and wants to properly start educating them. What I seem to have observed is that most students actually find it hard to concentrate when their needs are unmet, or if the classroom isn’t at all conducive to learning. I want to set the proper conditions under which they learn.

I will also take into consideration the students’ learning styles and the type of learner they are. It’s only proper that I teach in a way that wouldn’t just help students but inspire them to learn outside the four walls of the classroom.

Teaching is an adventure that students and teachers undertake together. The teachers learn something from their students, and the students equally learn something from their teacher.

The Curriculum and Lesson Plan

Not all teachers are curriculum-makers but most teachers need to know what they ought to teach their students. I will make a curriculum that only covers the essentials for each level and grade. I don’t want a curriculum that is overcrowded. Sometimes teachers rarely get to teach everything in the end. A curriculum doesn’t need to cover everything and anything, but only what is needed. One needs to go back to the basics once more with regards to curriculum making.

The lesson plan, on the other hand must be flexible according to the needs of the students. I believe that students should be given the choice in what they exactly want to learn.

Of course, the teacher will set the parameters in this situation, but its still up to the students to decide. I want to be able to know the topics that my students find interesting, and the topics that are otherwise.

It is good to know what the students actually expect from a class, and what they want to learn in order for them to get the best learning experience.

The Students

First, I want to be able to teach different kinds of students. I support inclusion. All students have the potential to learn after all, if they really want to. As a teacher I want to be able to help my students believe in themselves. They have the potential to be the best they can be. Yet, of course they are also expected to participate in the learning process.

The students are not just passive recipients of knowledge but they’re expected to be active recipients of this knowledge. They’re encouraged to read, to write, to explore the world around them.

Like most teachers, I want to grade my students based on their performance but I also want to grade them with regards to how they eagerly want to learn. If they strive, if they persevere, and if they have camaraderie with their classmates.

I want my students to persevere in their studies. I know that sometimes studying can be a shot into the unknown because you don’t really hold the results of everything. There is uncertainty in studying, in learning but I want them to keep in mind that studying and learning as well as teaching is a good investment for their future, in order for them to function well as good citizens and good individuals.

I would like to tell them that grades is just a part of life, it doesn’t sum up who they are as a person. Somehow, I would like them to believe that they can, and that if they are willing, they will succeed no matter how hard it may be.

Synthesis

To conclude, students are the most important part of my philosophy. Yet, it also highlights my role as an educator. My role is not just to be a teacher but also to be a second parent to most of my students. Teaching and learning are not solitary events for every lesson is meant to be shared with one another. We don’t have to face the world alone, because there will always be someone who will steer us into the right direction.

One may not know the way at first, one may feel like stepping into uncharted territory but one should believe that somehow, and in some way someone will be there to help.

It could be a teacher.

But it could also be a student.

Sources:

1) Medlen, P. (2010). The Crowded Curriculum. ABC News. Retrieved 13 October 2016, from http://www.abc.net.au/news/2010-06-22/the-crowded-curriculum/876076

2) Combs, J. (2016). Writing Your Own Educational Philosophy. Edulink.org. Retrieved 13 October 2016, from http://www.edulink.org/portfolio/philosophies.htm

3) NA. Instructional Strategies. (2014). For the Teachers. Retrieved 13 October 2016, from http://www.fortheteachers.org/instructional_strategies/

4) Weimer,M. (2012). Five Characteristics of Learner-Centered Teaching. Faculty Focus| Higher Ed. Teaching & Learning. Retrieved 13 October 2016, from http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/effective-teachingstrategies/five-characteristics-of-learner-centered-teaching

Score: Waiting…

Leave a Reply

